Gluten-Free Bread, low FODMAP

This recipe is another fluke/YAY one… where I combined what I hoped would work for a decent loaf of bread, and it WORKED!  HOORAH!  I was surprised how much it rose.  I made it a couple of months ago for the first time (and originally used a flour combo that Suzanne at Strands of My Life came up with), and then i made it again a couple of weeks ago as per the below recipe.  I shared the original recipe with Suzanne and she made changes which I imagine will be FAB!  I am looking forward to trying her version, as she is a LEGEND baker!  (You can find her recipe here: http://www.strandsofmylife.com/gluten-free-low-fodmap-bread/).  In the mean time… here’s mine…

Gluten Free Bread

Gluten-Free Bread

Dry Mixture Ingredients:
¾ cup tapioca flour
½ cup potato starch
1 cup fine rice flour
2/3 cup brown rice flour
1/3 cup buckwheat flour
2 tsp xanthan gum
3 Tb ground linseed
2 Tb chia seeds
1 Tb sesame seeds
1 tsp sea salt

Wet Mixture Ingredients:
250ml hot water
3 Tb panela
3 eggs
3 Tb olive oil
2 tsp yeast
1 tsp organic apple cider vinegar

Directions:
Sift all flours and stir to evenly combine.
Add remaining dry ingredients to the flour mix, and stir to combine.
Dissolve the panela in the hot water.
Lightly beat the eggs in a bowl (I just use a fork) and stir in the olive oil.
Stir the egg & oil mixture into the water & sugar mixture.
The water should be lukewarm by now, so add the yeast. (I use fresh yeast, but surebake or yeast granules would be fine).
Add the apple cider vinegar to the wet ingredients.
Combine the wet and dry ingredients and stir until well combined.
It’s quite a sticky mixture, so I use a spatula to scrape it out of the bowl and into an oiled, non-stick loaf tin.
Sprinkle with pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds or oats or a combination of these.
Loosely cover (I use a tea towel), and put in a warm place.
Leave it to rise for about 60minutes (almost doubled in size).
Bake at 170C (fan bake) for 45minutes or until done.

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Bread, low FODMAP

  1. Made this with a few changes today and it came out excellently: I doubled the recipe and instead of buckwheat flour I used extra brown rice flour, and instead of panella I used coconut sugar. For the doubled recipe I used 2 1/2 tsp guar gum and 1 tsp pectin (needed to use it up) instead of 4 tsp xanthan. I only used 3 tsp yeast for the doubled recipe and it rose well.

Leave a Reply

