Asian Chicken Salad, low FODMAP

Asian Chicken Salad

About 12 years ago, when we lived in the USA, I tried my first “Asian Chicken Salad” at the California Pizza Kitchen.  It was sooo good!  Then last time we were in the USA, my mother-in-law introduced me to the Soy Vay Toasted Sesame Dressing and it was so delicious that I bought a few bottles to bring back to New Zealand.  When I ran out, I contacted Soy Vay to see if they exported to NZ (I know, it sounds a little desperate, right?  But it was THAT good!)  They were super kind to offer to post me some, but the postage cost was somewhat prohibitive (ok… grossly prohibitive!) SO… I did my best to copy the recipe.  I tend to change the salad ingredients depending on what I have on hand, as it’s really the dressing that ‘makes’ it.  The non-negotiables for me, though, are heaps of leafy greens, grilled chicken, fresh mandarin segments or diced orange and toasted almonds.  I LOVE it with coriander (cilantro), but that’s not always available.  Anyway…. enough chat… here’s the recipe for the dressing first, and then a list of what’s in the salad shown above…

Toasted Sesame Dressing

1 ½ tsp natural mineral salt
3 Tb rice vinegar
1 Tb unpasteurized, organic apple cider vinegar
Stevia (tiny pinch – or to taste.  I buy it here: http://www.healthpost.co.nz/shop-by-brand/supplements-and-natural-health/radiance/stevia-sweet–stevia-extract-rdstvp.html)
2 Tb rapadura (or omit, and just add more stevia)
½ tsp ground black pepper
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp fresh lime juice (or to taste)
1/3 cup extra light olive oil
2 Tb pure sesame oil
3 Tb garlic-infused olive oil  (or just use 1-2 tsp crushed garlic and 3 TB pure olive oil if you can handle garlic)
2 Tb freshly roasted sesame seeds (I toast them in a pan for a few minutes over medium heat, until golden)
Combine all ingredients in a jar and shake to combine.  Refrigerate for a few hours before serving.
Prior to serving, leave out of refrigerator for 20minutes or so to come to room temperature (as the oils can harden a bit in the fridge).
The salad pictured included:
Mixed greens
Carrot, in peeled slices
Cucumber, diced
Fresh mandarin segments
Mung bean sprouts
Grilled chicken
Grilled bacon (I don’t usually add that to this salad, but this time I did and it was good but not necessary)
Raw almonds, toasted quickly in the pan and roughly chopped

ALSO good to add:
Avocado (if your body can handle polyols)
Coriander/Cilantro
Diced capsicum/bell pepper

Leave a Reply

