Hollandaise sauce (with poached eggs, bacon, spinach and sauerkraut) (Whole30)

Featured image

Hollandaise!  A fabulous friend of mine (who is a talented chef) shared with me how easy it is to make Whole 30 hollandaise sauce.  Amanda – THANK YOU!!

While the eggs were poaching in the pot, (just after putting them in to the boiling water) I held a stainless steel bowl on an angle resting ‘just’ on the boiling water and whisked an average sized egg with a splash of raw apple cider vinegar (didn’t measure it, but it was probably about 1/2 Tbsp).  I whisked it until it was a bit frothy, and then my precious daughter slowly drizzled in the melted ghee (again, not measured, but maybe about 1 1/2 to 2 Tbsp) while I whisked it in.  It bound beautifully into a creamy hollandaise sauce, which I sat on the bench while piling up the spinach, poached eggs, bacon and sauerkraut.

I added the Himalayan mineral salt and cracked pepper after serving as it was bland without it.  Simple! Tasty!  It was really enough hollandaise for two servings, but nobody else in my family prefers it, so I ate the lot (since it’s not so great reheated), which is probably why I’m still feeling so fantastically satiated 🙂  (and it’s been about three hours since I ate).

Leave a Reply

